News & Advice


Why Are There 2 Kansas Cities?

There are two cities named “Kansas City” because they were founded as separate municipalities on either side of the Kansas-Missouri state line. Kansas City, Kansas, was incorporated in 1872 and is the third-largest city in the state of Kansas. Kansas City, Missouri, was incorporated in 1850 and is the largest city in the state of Missouri.

Both cities played important roles in the history of the United States. Kansas City, Missouri, was a key point for westward expansion and played a significant role in the development of the Santa Fe, Oregon, and California Trails. Kansas City, Kansas, became a major industrial center in the early 20th century, with meatpacking and manufacturing industries driving its growth.

The two cities share a common metropolitan area and are separated by the Missouri River. They also share many cultural and economic ties, including a major international airport, a professional football team (the Kansas City Chiefs), and a professional baseball team (the Kansas City Royals). Despite the similarities in their names, the two cities have different governments, school systems, and laws, as they are located in different states.