News & Advice


How Many Counties Are In Wichita?

Wichita is not a county but a city located in Sedgwick County, which is one of the 105 counties in the state of Kansas. Wichita is the largest city in Sedgwick County and serves as its county seat. Sedgwick County is located in south-central Kansas and covers an area of approximately 1,009 square miles. The county has a population of over 500,000 people and is the second-most populous county in Kansas, after Johnson County.

Sedgwick County is one of the economic and cultural hubs of Kansas, with a diverse economy that includes manufacturing, healthcare, education, and more. In addition to Wichita, the county includes several other cities and towns, such as Derby, Haysville, and Andale, as well as rural areas and farmland.